2021 Fèis Ìle: Virtual Festival Roundup

May 27, 2021

Friday should mark the beginning of the 2021 Fèis Ìle, the Islay Festival of Music and Malt. But once again, the event held during the last week of May and early June has been cancelled due to the ongoing pandemic. Typically, all of the distilleries on the island hold events during the festival ranging from live music to tours, whisky tastings and master classes. But like last year, the distilleries on Islay (and Jura too) are holding virtual events on their social media platforms.

Additionally, several have announced 2021 Fèis Ìle limited-edition bottlings, although many have limited availability. With that in mind, we’ve decided to round up all of the virtual activities and festival bottles so you can find all the details on one devoted page. If you can’t join in on the virtual sessions in real time, don’t worry; many of the events are being recorded for later viewing.

Make sure you have some Islay whisky on hand and raise a glass from the comfort of your home all week long. Let’s hope that Islay can host visitors again in the near future. Sláinte!

Ardnahoe
Friday May 28th

Although Ardnahoe is still waiting for its whisky to age, the distillery is still holding several events to kick off the festivities including an operations tour with Stuart Hughes and an interactive live tasting hosted by Paul Graham, Visitor Centre Operations Manager. You can visit the website to find out more information here.

2021 Fèis Ìle: Ardnahoe DistilleryArdnahoe Distillery /Photo Credit: Ardnahoe

Lagavulin
Saturday May 29th

Savor the Moments

Brand Ambassador Ewan Gunn will be live on Facebook from Lagavulin Distillery on Saturday, May 29th at 7PM GMT / 2PM EDT to guide you through a night of delicious whisky and traditional music with an array of VIP guests and a first look at the special-edition festival bottling. You can find the event here.

Festival Bottling
Lagavulin 13 Year 2021 Fèis Ìle

Bruichaddich
Sunday May 30th

Laddie Lock in II: Time Travellers

Bruichladdich has a full day of events to not only celebrate the 2021 Fèis Ìle, but also its 20th anniversary of the distillery reopening as well as the 10th anniversary of The Botanist Gin. Register here to see the list of events.

Festival Bottlings
Bruichladdich Laddie Origins
Bruichladdich Single Cask
The Botanist Islay Aged Gin

Caol Ila
Monday May 31st

Experience the Sounds of Islay

Join Ervin Trykowski on Monday May 31st at 7PM BST on Facebook for the 2021 Fèis Ìle virtual celebrations, with guest host Patricia Panther.

Ervin will be joined by special guests to bring you the sounds of Islay, complete with delicious whisky and a look at the Caol Ila limited edition festival bottling. You can find more information here.

Festival Bottling
Caol Ila 12 Year 2021 Fèis Ìle

2021 Fèis Ìle: Caol Ila DistilleryCaol Ila Distillery /Photo Credit: Caol Ila

Laphroaig
Tuesday June 1st

A Good Day with Laphroaig!

Events for Laphroaig Day begin with a Visitor Center Team Tour at 2PM BST/9AM EST; Laphroaig at the Harbor Inn at 4PM BST/11AM EST; Laphroaig Live at 6:15PM BST/1:15PM EST; and Laphroaig Late at 11:30PM BST/6:30PM EST. Click here to register.

Festival Bottling
Laphroaig Cáirdeas 2021 PX Cask Strength

Bowmore
Wednesday June 2nd

Bowmore has a full day of events planned for its virtual 2021 Fèis Ìle. The distillery will kick things off with a warm welcome at 11:30AM BST/6:30AM EST with other events including a malt tour with Distillery Manager David Turner and a live tasting with Turner and Master of Spirits Iain McCallum. Click here to pre-register.

Festival Bottling
TBA

Kilchoman
Thursday June 3rd

360° Online Fèis Ìle

Kilchoman’s 360° experience will let you explore the distillery and its entire whisky-making process beginning at 12PM BST/7AM EST. Every aspect from the farm to the malt floor to the stillhouse and the warehouse will be covered. Of course virtual tasting events will also be held. To find out all the details, visit the website here.

Festival Bottling
Kilchoman Fèis Ìle 2021

2021 Fèis Ìle: Kilchoman DistilleryKilchoman Distillery /Photo Credit: Kilchoman

Bunnahabhain
Friday June 4th

Fèis at Home 2021

Bunnahabhain has a couple of events for its virtual 2021 Fèis Ìle including a live masterclass tasting streaming on Facebook at 8PM BST/3PM EST. The panel includes Master Blender Julieann Fernandez; Master Distiller Brendan McCarron; Distillery Manager Andrew Brown; Visitor Centre Manager Billy Sinclair and whisky writer Dave Broom. The tasting will explore the origins of Bunnahabhain with its 12-year-old, before moving on to a guided tasting of their Fèis Ìle 2021 bottlings. Find out more here.

Festival Bottlings
Bunnahabhain 2013 Mòine Bordeaux Fèis Ìle 2021
Bunnahabhain 2001 Marsala Cask Finish Fèis Ìle 2021

Ardbeg
Saturday June 5th

For Ardbeg Day, there will be a series of events including “Dragon Tales with Jackie” a “Dragon’s Eye Stillhouse Tour” as well as a live tasting of Ardbeg Scorch, the 2021 Fèis Ìle bottling. Click here for more details.

Festival Bottling
Ardbeg Scorch

Jura
Sunday June 6th

Jura will be going live on Instagram for a Jura whisky brunch & cocktails session as well as a Jura pub lock-in. For more information, check out the Instagram page here.

Festival Bottling
Jura Distillery Cask Fèis Ìle Edition 2021


Don’t forget to grab a glass for your at-home 2021 Fèis Ìle celebrations.

With Distiller, you’ll always know what’s in the bottle before you spend a cent. Rate, Review, and Discover spirits. Head on over to Distiller, or download the app for iOS and Android today!

Want to enjoy Distiller ad-free? Join Distiller Pro today to support the Distiller platform and keep ads off of your screen.

You may also like...